Weather horrible, too vile to even move from the kitchen table where there happens to be a pot of cyclamen, so that's what it is!

 New blog and far too much time on the computer.

How sad to hear about Leonard Cohen's death but he said himself that he was ready. His was one of the first proper gigs I ever went to - May 10th 1970 in the Albert Hall (yes, I had to look that up) when I was sweet 17. I was amazed I was allowed to go for the Stones concert in Hyde Park and the Isle of Wight Festival of the year before were firmly banned, as was a ball at Sandhurst. I was kept on a fairly tight rein. I went with a wayward boyfriend who was disappointed I didn't look more alternative ie flowing robes and flowers (that came about a year later). I do remember the dress - short, red with rather remarkable sleeves - big puffs then tightening at the elbows. Pretty cool I'd thought, country girl from the sticks, but it was my first encounter with real hippies. The man in front of us had long curly hair and he rocked throughout - as in rocking. The gig was electrifying and I have loved Leonard Cohen ever since. I even managed to find a playlist of that night and this was one he sang:

You Know Who I am

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.