If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Rememberance.

Perhaps it is because I am a "baby boomer" but poppies have always been prominent in November during my life. Trying to think of a blip I gathered a selection of the poppies from round the house, the ceramic one from the "Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Blood (2014), a large artificial one,  a typical "poppy day" button hole and a large "poppy day" version.

So here they are on our cold frosty lawn in a shaft of morning sun.  A couple of observations about remembrance.  Firstly I am pleased to see it is still being strongly observed.  When I was at school I don't remember the silence being observed or shops falling still at 11:00 on the 11th  The second is I was horrified to here a presenter say on TV today that there have only been two years since 1945 when there have been no military deaths in active service.

I must pop along to see what ASG has blipped this year his list of personal friends who have fallen is always sobering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.