Dolly's brave girls

Kiki and Fionna both showed me why I never became a nurse/doctor/vet, or anything that deals with wounds and blood! We took Fionna for a check up and Ingaborg, our vet, didn't like the look of her leg, she thought it was best to try and take the ring off as soon a possible! She came back five minutes later with the split metal ring and a ring of flesh that had been underneath, I looked away very quickly! Fionna came back a few minutes after that, the poor wee soul has quite a raw wound on her leg, I couldn't look at that either, it was a bit upsetting! She is fine though, and not in any pain, and we got some Manuka honey ointment from the vet to put on it, so hopefully it will now heal fine! The ring is pictured, they did a good job getting it off!

We then moved on to Kiki! I had been holding her the whole time and she'd been fine, all teeth accounted for! Ingaborg then took her to examine her, opened her mouth for a look and saw... a big hole, blood and no tooth, I nearly fainted at that point! I started to panic a bit as I had no idea where the tooth had went, but then Lewis spotted it on the table, it fell out all by itself! Once I calmed down from the shock, we were able to get a good look and her mouth looked good, although she only has three teeth now! Hopefully it will grow back, but if you look at the tooth you can see the enamel on the root side is not very good, so we will have to see, and she will need additional trims until it does! We were relived to get both our girls home safe!

All in all it was an eventful day, and that was all before 9.30!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.