gavinclinch

By gavinclinch

"You got me Singing"

I've been listening to Leonard Cohen since 1977. Strange to say perhaps but his poetry and lyrics have been like a mentor to me. I would often listen to him alone, late at night, especially when studying in the 80's - it was very often "4 in the morning".

This blip is from a Dublin concert in September 2013. I took my eldest daughter to see him. It was her 9th birthday.

When each of our children were born they were introduced to Cohen's music on the way home from the hospital. I hope they all find comfort in music, song and poetry. Especially at times of heartache.

He produced so many beautiful, insightful and poignant songs. Such poetry. His music and, in a way, his guidance will always be with me.

Strange to find myself weeping for the passing of a man I never met. I'm gutted. I'm gonna miss you Leonard - "You got me Singing". I think you got us all singing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.