Awaythelads

By Awaythelads

The Master, RIP

Backblip.  I write this on 11th Nov 2016, but the photo is from 2012.

I shouldn't check Facebook on my iPhone beyond the bewitching hour.  I have trouble enough sleeping.  In the early hours I noticed a disturbing posting that Leonard Cohen had died.  It was definitely a hoax, as he had just released his latest LP.  I decided to check the ultra-reliable BBC, just to make sure.  Devastation.  It is true.
This photo is from Leonard Cohen's performance at The Royal Hospital, Kilmainham, Dublin on 14th September 2012.  I attended with my mother.  This is one of my favourite photos of Cohen, not just one of the many that I've taken of him, but of any Cohen photo I have seen. He spotted me with my camera and posed. I was only a few feet away from him. Right time, right place, right camera kit. A perfect moment captured (for our kids?).
More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.