Side by side with Rosie

Today's main blip is a photo of Rosie who insisted on coming up to sit beside me this morning. Fortunately the camera that was within reach was not the heavy DSLR of I would not have been able to take the shot because of the way I had to hold it. When Rosie had enough of licking my hand, I served her breakfast and got ready to cycle to the supermarket for a new one of her favourite vegetable as she'd finished off the old one yesterday. Today has been a holiday over here in Belgium and usually that particular supermarket is only open in the morning on those days so it was quite a surprise to see that they would stay open only 2 hours less than a full day this time.

Even though common sense dictated a quiet day at home after that for my still tired and somewhat sore legs and feet, I decided that I would join the local nature society on their walk at the reserve now that one was being organised on a holiday. Their usual monthly walks take place on Saturday afternoon but I always have to give those a miss because I have to work then and finish too late to get to the reserve in time to go with them, assuming I would still feel up to it after my shift.

We could not have wished for better weather today. Although it felt rather cold, it stayed dry and sunny from start to finish and even though most of the walk was at the reserve itself and not so much on unknown territory as was mentioned in the nature society's magazine, the 3 guides made it very interesting with their various comments.

Both the hot chocolate at the reserve's cafe and the pancake from the van that was parked at the entrance which I treated myself to before going home after the walk were a lovely end to the day. 


The first extra photo is a Cormorant that I spotted at the other side of the road as I was leaving to cycle to the supermarket this morning.

The other shots of my exceptionally large number of extras are from the reserve. The second and third one are of this evening's sunset and the fourth photo is of the moon with a little bonus that I didn't even notice when I took the shot. Finally, the last two extras are not actually my photos but the flying squirrel and the heron which appears to be looking at the sign offering eels for sale at 5 euros for 500 grammes are my two favourite entries from a photo exhibition outside the reserve's visitors' centre. 


Many thanks for all the comments and stars on yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.