Third_eye

By Third_eye

Why are we all here?

This is not intended as a philosophical reflection on the meaning of life,  but a simple review of what I get out of photography in all its aspects.

For me, variety is the spice of life, and one of the things I like most about Blipfoto is the wide range of interests and skills represented and shared here, whether casual snapshots of family, pets or experiences, of interest for informal discussion, or at the other extreme carefully planned and executed works celebrating the joy of owning and using the 'best' cameras, followed (or not!) by finishing (or as some say, ruining or falsifying) the camera image with enthusiastic post-processing. We all think differently, and that is what makes it all so interesting.

I have no special style or subject but try to snap something new everyday with a story to tell , preferably not too similar to the one posted yesterday or planned for tomorrow, but now that I have difficulty getting out and about I am finding new truth in Robert Burns' words, "The best laid schemes of mice and men gang oft aglay" and am turning increasingly to recycling my memories and creating new images at home.

I know that does not accord strictly with the ethos of 'take and post on the same day', but it keeps the mind active and presents opportunities for a few words of explanation, and with that I will now close with the words made famous in my childhood by 'Uncle Mac' alias Derek McCullouch, presenter of the log-running BBC radio show, "Children's Hour", and say "Goodnight children everywhere".

Pictured above are some of my random shots taken this year and now recycled as a collage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.