Plus ça change...

By SooB

Lunch

We are determinedly keeping to our record of eating outside at least once in every month. November: tick.

Given I went to bed at 9.30pm, the 9am start seemed unreasonably painful. Getting Mr B up half an hour later just seemed cruel, but we had an appointment to see a man about a dog. Well, a man about a cross trainer anyway.

Then to the market to buy all the cheese, basketball to cheer CarbBoy's team to a narrow loss, and home to eat all the cheese.

Later, failing to chop off a rabbit's head plunged me into the pits of despair. Well, obviously the rabbit's head was just the last in a bunch of straws. Happily, I have a shortcut route out of the blues these days: wailing along to all the sad Eagles tracks, shouting along to some rock, then a good boogie. And all while multi-tasking making dinner. The kids know to make a quick exit when they hear the first bars of Desperado.

Back on track now. We have all agreed that the new series of Asian Provocateur is just as rude as the old one (despite Mr B claiming it would be fine). The kids don't like swearing - except in French which they say is not really swearing as even the bad words are fine in normal conversation. I'm wondering if that just means they (and I) don't know the bad words yet.

Now I'm about to fall asleep in front of a drama. I asked some friends which of the next three Saturdays they might be free for dinner. None, but in a month they can fit us in.... I am left feeling slightly relieved that my life is an endless opportunity to fall asleep on the sofa. Really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.