Dripping

For several years my brother and I used to spend a week of our school summer holidays with our Great Auntie Flo in Bournemouth. She was a lovely lady of whom I have fond memories. She came to mind this morning when I awoke to a torrential downpour. 'Rain before seven, fine before eleven', she used to say with a smile.

Flo was often right, but not today. The rain dwindled to drizzle but didn't stop at all during the County GG social walk around Aspenden. It's flat country too so there was little to catch the eye. I always find something in nature though, if I look around. Today I spied raindrops on Hawthorn berries. They were easier to capture than the deer on the far horizon.

I skipped the pub lunch wanting instead to spend some time with Lauren, who rather unusually had invited me shopping with her. I was feeling a bit under the weather tbh but teenagers don't ask often, so after making a chocolate cake (essential delay!), off we went for just a couple of fun hours.

Then it was a quick tea and off out to hear a local choir sing Nelson's Mass (Peter was playing in the orchestra), which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.