Sunny intervals

A day in Edinburgh, but not at the Rugby, just travelling with Gordon, who was going to the Rugby.
 
I did my own thing, just wandering and visiting galleries and having lunch. A blip friend had kindly given me some ideas of exhibitions that would be on, so that was useful, but in the end the weather was nowhere near as bad as forecast, in fact it was quite nice . . . for November in Edinburgh . . . and wandering and sitting about was just fine. !
 
I saw The Goldfinch, (the picture by Dutch painter Carel Fabritius, which was already famous before Donna Tartt wrote her book), whilst it is on a flying visit to Scotland. I also saw a Cézanne painting of Montagne Sainte-Victoire, which was lovely, so soon after having been to the real thing.
 
And I only went into two shops – one was an excellent little Wool Shop, where I got advice and purchased a book and wool and am now ready to start knitting socks.
 
A good day. And it would seem that the Rugby was good too, although sad for the Scots . . . apparently!
 
The extra is the first picture I took as I walked out of the station.This was the last picture I took as I walked back to the station.In between it had been sunny intervals. ( I've changed the photos round, as I liked this one best. I don't know why I did it the other way first.)
 

A Grumble
If one arrives at a railway station in the early morning to find the station car park full, it is not good enough to be told that it is not big enough and is always full and to be handed a map to show an alternative car park half a mile away.
A station car park should be big enough for all potential passengers.
 
If a train is delayed by 20 minutes, it is not good enough to have signs all over the station saying that if a train is over half an hour late then passengers can apply for compensation. Nor is it good enough to keep apologising for the delay. 
Trains should be on time.
 
If a train is so full that many people have to stand for a journey lasting an hour or more and such a problem was easy to anticipate on a day when there was some important Rugby going on, it is not good enough to keep apologising and telling passengers to keep luggage from seats. 
Trains should have enough capacity for everyone to have a seat.
   
Usually when we travel by train we drive to Darlington (50 minutes) and take the East Coast line. Today we drove to Penrith (20 minutes) and reminded ourselves yet again why we do the former and avoid the useless West Coast line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.