Astronaut

By astronaut

with sadness

this evening we found out that my 'uncle' George has passed away. He had been ill for a while but his doctors in New Zealand told him he'd be fine to travel to the UK but with just 8 days before his return flight home to Auckland he lost his battle with cancer which rapidly took hold in the past few days. I feel so, so sad for my Aunt Bessy who will now have to travel back on her own all that way.

My mum became friends with Bessy when they were teenagers and their friendship has held despite Bessy and George moving to the other side of the world 50 years ago! I hope I can hold my friendships like this! My spirits were lifted by a random call tonight from my uni friend Claire, that girl definitely knows how to make me smile!


edit - looking back at my blip from a year ago today, there's my mum with another friend from her teenage years! inspiring : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.