The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Drays' Holiday

I went on a round trip on Tuesday, the main purpose of which was to have another look at the Wadworth Shire Horses last seen on Friday, and to buy some groceries.

On the way, I stopped off at Caen Hill Café to take a look at the cygnets, last seen in June. This time they were in the basin just below the café with their parents although this time there were only three cygnets in evidence.

When I reached the field where the drays were, they were sheltering under an old oak on the far side of the field. Prince and Monty went over to the hay feeders and Max stayed put. I walked over to the tree and spoke to Max, who let me stroke him. Prince and Monty came back to greet me and I got this picture of them together. Max seems the most reticent of the three, but is just as friendly. There used to be two pairs of horses pulling the delivery wagons but when Percy retired, his replacement proved unsuited to working in a team and left. I don't know, but I suspect that it is Prince and Monty who now work as a pair.

My next stop was at Bolland's Hill near Seend, to see if anything was happening on the canal, and found a large red barge moored there.

Blip #770
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #874

Alternatives:
The Swan Family
Max To The Max
'The Apple'
Bolland's Hill Bridge

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

The Wadworth Shires On Holiday (August 2012) (Flickr album of 33 images)

Shire Horses series
Horses series

Lozarithm's Rhythm Of The Day:
Cowboy Junkies - A Horse In The Country (1992)

Wadworth Shire Horses On Holiday (video)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.