The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Tree fellas in the tree tops

I take my duties as an uncle seriously. Sometimes that means subjecting myself to unpleasant experiences in the interests of providing entertainment for the two fellas. Today I had to put myself through the prolonged hardship of Go Ape in Grizedale Forest, where the arboreal obstacle course is boastfully said to be the highest in the UK, with some of the longest zip wires to take you flying across valleys, roads and gaping tourists back to terra firma (temporarily).

Unlike last year's adventures in Grizedale, when the bigger fella and I ended up in a Tour de France style pile-up on the road back to the bicycle hire centre, today was free of major mishaps. Just as well really, as falling out of the trees on this assault course is not an option.

Wifie and I had a little concern beforehand that the bigger fella didn't have such a good head for heights. If not, it didn't take him long to acquire one. He would stop in mid rope bridge to call back to me: "when you get to this point, don't forget to look down". The little fella was enjoying every moment of it, and unlike the bigger fella and me, he had a knack of ending up pointing feet first when he came to the end of a long zip, while we would be dragged backwards through the muddy bark and wood shavings on our backsides. They had a great time while I suffered, but we made it safely to the end, and do you know, I was just a tad disappointed that it was all over when I slid down the final zip. In fact, I would have happily gone round for a second time.

In this shot we see the little fella setting off across the next high level walkway, while the bigger fella is clipping in his karabiners on the other side. The photographer fella is waiting nervously for his turn, trying to avoid camera shake.

I sure am glad I left the big camera behind. I have a feeling it might not have survived the big Tarzan swing into the netting at the end. Now we are trying to work out how we can trick their Dad, farmer Andrew, into having a go next time.

ps No comments expected, this is a very overdue backblip which I simply had to post for the sake of posterity.

pps I've just noticed a year ago was my 365, and a lucky encounter with a curious stoat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.