Scribbler

By scribbler

"I am the door."

"Whoever enters by me will be saved."

This is the side door of St. Mary's Cathedral, much used because closest to the parking lot. With the windows lit from inside, it looks like a safe haven, and that's how it feels when I come here.

Post-election Portland is in need of safe havens. Imagine my amazement at finding my neighborhood in the top stories of The Guardian and the BBC. Thursday night there were anti-Trump demonstrations in the streets, confrontations with police, wanton destruction of property—right on my block. The Chase bank, the Starbucks, the FedEx store all had boarded-up windows. 

The cleanup was swift. By Saturday evening (tonight), when I drove past on my way home from church, all the graffiti had been removed and the glass replaced. But I had seen the videos of people marching with masked faces, and heard the angry shouting of obscenities.  

A year ago, Pope Francis initiated an Extraordinary Jubilee Year of Mercy. When the Church declares a Jubilee Year, special doors are opened in the Vatican and in churches throughout the world. The pope declared that ""the Holy Door will become a Door of Mercy through which anyone who enters will experience the love of God who consoles, pardons, and instils hope." 
Next weekend is the end of the Christian year; the Jubilee is over and the doors of mercy will be shut. Just when it seems they need to be open. 

Jesus spoke the words I quoted in the title. 
"I am the door. Whoever enters by me will be saved."
May we be the door that offers love, consolation, forgiveness, and hope. 
May we be blessed to be a blessing.
May we be the door of mercy that never shuts.

How do we do this? I have no idea.
"Lead, kindly Light. I do not ask to see
 the distant scene. One step enough for me."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.