Return to the North

By Viking

Loss and Remembrance

Church began early this morning so that we could head over to a small cenotaph for the service of remembrance. It is perfectly placed between the parish church, Salvation Army and the Wesleyian Chapel so it was a well attended service.
Of course it was as moving as ever as we remember all that have given their lives over the years so that we can be free. Their sacrifice must never be forgotten. It was gratifying to see so many young people there..
I came home to news of a much more personal loss. Soon after I resigned from my post as principal in NZ I was told of one of the students and her cancer diagnosis (a very rare and virulent form too). Before I left I popped round to see the family to say hello and good luck for the fight ahead.
Well this morning Chelsea lost her fight and the world has lost another beautiful soul. I take heart from the fact that her suffering has ended but my heart bleeds for her family who will be devastated. God Bless you Chelsea may you rest in peacegeorge.holmes@blueoctopus.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.