Brass Reflections

I think it is fair to say that I am all Remembranced out this year. I was present at the service in the Garden Of Remembrance in Edinburgh on the 11th, I watched all of the Festival of Remembrance In the Albert Hall last night and the minute's silence and laying of wreaths at the Cenotaph this morning.

His Lordship who professes to have had the best 2 years of his life on National service as a Corporal in the Gordon Highlanders during the Malaya Campaign was glued to the TV as he watched the ceremony this morning and while I thought David Dimbleby did a great job of the commentary, HL became incensed at the muddle he was making naming the Scottish regiments, and told me in ungentlemanly terms that Dimbleby didn't know his arse from his elbow.

Apparently he muddled up the Gordon Highlanders, the Black Watch and Argylls and yes, even I know the Black Watch have a red hackle in their bonnets, but still I can't believe HL thought it was such a heinous crime when the majority of people watching probably couldn't give a toss.

Another thing that rattled him before this morning was that there had been no mention of the Korean War or the Malaya Campaign, but lo and behold he was somewhat mollified when the recipient of the Victoria Cross from Korea was mentioned as he was paraded in his wheel chair at the laying of the wreaths.

With all my time spent watching parades on the TV, I feel it only right that my blip illustrates this- a bandsman at the Cenotaph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.