Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Sunday....

Went to the Remembrance Day service at Keighley where Airedaleknitter played 'The Last Post' prior to the 2 minutes' silence.  She proudly wore her Grandad's WW1 medals and there wasn't a sound to be heard except the poignant notes of her bugle in the air. 
On to Skipton for a meander around the antique shop there.  I'm looking for a desk and saw a beautiful oak one with a red leather top with gold engraving around the edge... and a bargain so it was.. but just too big I think :/
Then a read of the wreaths and crosses at the war memorial in Skipton.  One of those being remembered on these wee crosses lost his life in 2010, he would have been the same age as my Jess today :/ 
Remembering all the fallen in conflict today, in particular my Uncle Eric who died in WW2 age 18 and my Uncle Allison who died in WW2 age 21.  I know.... Allison for your first born son.... how name fashions change.

Confess to being very moved by your responses to my blip yesterday... I won't gush sentimentally.... but hey.... THANK YOU big time :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.