good morning canary

By sk

swallows and amazons

this was taken by my grandfather who fought in the Battle of the Somme and thankfully survived.

after the war he worked tirelessly for those who needed help and was involved with Toc H for many years.

I discovered this photograph today and in the front of the album he had pasted a newspaper clipping pioneering flats for single people - he was very much ahead of his time.

...and it always amazes me to see the photos that he chose to keep of me (as a baby / toddler) with such pride.  being adopted, seeing his delight in  all of his son's family without discrimination is very touching.

he was a lovely man.  
and a fine photographer...i want to share more of his pictures - he was a climber and i have many many albums of his adventures here and there with some really good images.  I wonder who would be interested in climbing pics of 1930s 40s.  some of them deserve a wider audience than just me.

i suspect this pic will have been taken somewhere in the Lake District

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.