Remembrance Day

I am sure this Sunday comes round quicker every year! I played my part in the service at Keighley today, always an honour, but Mr H was playing with his band this afternoon at a service, so  as I got in , he was getting ready ( including ironing his poppy!) to go out. 

I called in at Oxenhope Cemetery this afternoon on my way back from the farm shop. The grave stone in extras is of my Great Aunt Rose Hannah, and her husband and only child. She remembered going to Oxenhope  station by horse and cart to wave her brother off to fight in the 'Great War' . She never saw him again. Sadly she had already lost one of her brothers to the war, so may well have feared it would happen again. It is hard to imagine now , as Oxenhope station is now a tourist attraction - often blipped - that men of the town went off to war from there. 
We must never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.