tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Crock pot

I'm feeling rather pleased with myself. Not only have I cleared away the tangled overgrowth of bracken, brambles and couch grass that usually engulfs this little parterre-ish area to the side of the house, but I have shifted the old copper from across the yard and perched it on top of 'where the well once was'. No mean feat to accomplish single-handed since the copper is cast-iron - formerly it would  have been used to do the big family wash, filled with buckets of water from the well and heated in a wash house by a fire underneath, something like this.

Sad to say, the pot is crock because many years ago a certain person-who-shall-remain-nameless was banging on it with a hammer and made a hole in the base. (I was incandescent with rage.)
Still, I could fill it with water if I fitted a pond liner, alternatively I could fill it with earth and grow ferns. For now I'm just enjoying the ellipse of the lip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.