Rodents rule

By squirk

Somewhere over Goose Bay

Halfway through the flight, I cranked open the shutter and found land. The shutter was closed because the folk in the middle of the aircraft couldn't see the screens because of the light, but who needs films when there are views of strange lands. I keeked out at my half-open shutter in defiance.

I'd started the day in the dark at 6am, waiting outside my flat for a cab. Also outside were my neighbour and her friend having a fag break. They hadn't yet gone to bed, which I was well aware of since I'd had only a couple of hours sleep due to doors shutting loudly and the sound of heels on the wooden floors above. It was a Friday night and such gatherings are rare, but I was really needing that sleep for such an early rise. Ah well.

The cab driver was lovely and we chatted all the way to Heathrow. He at first thought we were going to Gatwick, which would have been interesting. Luckily, I mentioned Heathrow in conversation quite early on and we twigged. Phew. At the terminal, I had a brief panic when I thought I'd left my phone in the cab and I had no means of calling back the cabbie. Then I discovered that the sensible part of me had popped it in my bag. Phew II.

It was a breeze after that and all went well. I had a double seat – bonus – on the plane. I watched only one film, Sing Street, which I really enjoyed. Shortly after, I drank some orange juice that did not agree with me and which made the rest of the flight way too long and difficult. I was happy to land in Charlotte, with its multicoloured trees, and take a breather. It's a wee airport with white rocking chairs in various places. I plonked myself down in one and waited for the Akron flight.

I didn't fare so well on that flight either, but managed to hold it together. My stomach was not happy. I might not drink orange juice again. The lovely Cynthia met me at Akron and we got on straight away. I wasn't at my best, and Cynthia was very sweet and didn't mind that I wanted to go straight to the hotel and to bed, even though it was only 6.30pm. Really, I should have stayed up until 10pm to alleviate the jet lag, but my body wasn't having any of that. ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.