Cool Skink

This half-grown lizard was so laid back that it let me approach near enough to get a close macro shot of it. I’ve never been this close to a basking lizard before. Its feet are fascinating and the regenerated tail is impressive. Note the fine scales under its “arm.”  Best seen large- click the two black triangles on the right below the image.

Thanks to the people who enquired after me when they heard of the earthquakes. I am well away from the area where they are at their worst. The big one woke me up, but I have felt only one other of the hundreds that have occurred in the last 19 hours. It will be devastating for the people involved, and it will have opened emotional scars for people traumatised by the Christchurch earthquakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.