MONO MONDAY - COLD

For many years, until my retirement, I paid income tax and national insurance contributions, which helped fund our National Health Service, so that I can go to see a doctor if I am ill without having to pay anything extra.  I may have to wait a few days for an appointment, but on the whole, I don’t have to wait that long at our practice.  However, I wouldn’t normally visit the doctor if I have a cold.

I am grateful that I get free prescriptions but our extensive medical collection has mostly been purchased “over the counter” when we needed something for a cold, cough or sore throat.  Pharmacists are very knowledgeable these days - and you can usually speak to them quicker than getting an appointment with your doctor!

So a different twist on the Mono Monday theme for “cold” - a runny nose, scratchy throat, non-stop sneezing and itchy ears are usually the signs that I have a cold and although it’s very unpleasant, it’s usually gone within a week.  

As a cold is caused by a virus, there isn’t much that can be done, it just has to take its course, but of course, it’s good to be able to alleviate some of the symptoms especially at night and I can usually find something to help in our medical box.

Movie failures are like the common cold.
You can stay in bed and take aspirin
     for six days and recover,
or you can walk around and ignore it
     for six days and recover.
Gene Tierney - film actress 1920-1991

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.