Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Studio time again! And with that all the craziness of this day! :D
We got a new student today and I thought I recognized her, but I wasn't really sure... When my co-worker introduced us all to her and came to me, the new student said my name and I knew it was the woman I remembered from before. She had a scarf around her head and shoulders before, but not now. :) And, a very pleasant surprise was that she knows or is related to - I'm not sure - a man I used to have sewing lessons with at the Red Cross. He is a trained tailor since many years (what knowledge he has, amazing!) and when he moved away from Uppsala to work in another town I lost contact with him. Today I talked to him and it was so very nice to hear that he is still working as a tailor and is doing well. :) I have been thinking about him, on and off, and he has too, so it was nice to do a quick catch up! :)
Then...this thing with languages and teaching... sometimes one comes across a word that if you just change it a little bit, one letter, it gets a whole other meaning...and sometimes that whole other meaning is something kind of dirty... Today I came across such a word...and when the student I taught the right word to pronounced it a little bit wrong to that dirty word I was taken back and quickly corrected her... And I kept correcting her every single time she said it wrong... In Swedish y and u are rather close in pronunciation  and some students has a difficulty with those letters. In this case it became a dirty word... so I kept correcting her... I never told her the true meaning of the other word. I had no idea how to!! :D But I blushed a little... :D 
The 3 top photos are of the studio, well..half of it anyway. My tea cup is standing infront of our overlook machines and then it's the worktables with fabric cupboards behind, and embroidery materials, yarn and other stuff. The third photo is the sewing machines. We have 7 but one is broken so we have 6, and 7 students...
During the second part of the day I continued with my clay fairy house. I'm not making it as the picture we found online (I think I blipped it last Monday), I'm making it my own. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.