WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Gone fishing

I suppose this could almost be another entry in my door series, although this one is a bit inaccessible. This morning we decided to try the new spa in Gruissan. It has everything: an array of themed jacuzzis, including a salt one, a musical one, and one in which you can bathe in red wine, a warm "stream" in which you can swim with or against the current, passing from indoors to outdoors under a bridge, two saunas, a hammam, and a full-sized swimming pool. After two hours repeatedly trying all of the facilities out, we felt thoroughly relaxed, and also hungry -- a situation quickly remedied with ham, egg and cheese buckwheat pancakes in a cheap and cheerful crêperie in the village. It's a pity the spa costs 17 euros a person, meaning we can't afford to go too often. I think I'd have a season ticket if I lived in Gruissan.

After lunch we did a quick detour to the fishermen's cabins near the salt pans, where I took the opportunity to grab a few blips (see also the extras). Most of them are not quite as derelict as this one.

And finally I finished off the afternoon by going to my new French book group. The choice of book was a little contentious; the person who chose it loved it but several people couldn't bring themselves to read more than the first chapter. Still, it made for a good discussion. And for my part I learned lots of new words, as it's full of modern slang that I had to google. My thoughts here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.