beyond belief

By jandeblipper

Dougan's Lake or Patrolas Lake

I went to this small lake south of Duncan because sunsets are easy to photograph there. Two men were trolling in a boat. A third man launched his inflatable boat after fifteen minutes of pumping air into it. We discussed cameras. He owned a Nikon D300.

Native family that lives beside the lake came down for a visit. I had a conversation with the man about the farm where he worked and the people we knew. I told him that I played hooky from school once. A row boat lay on the shore. My friend and I rowed out to the small island at the other end of the lake. We watched the school bus drive by and a teacher. When the school day came to an end, we rowed back to the shore and walked home.

Most of the trees on the island have died. The native fellow said the island moved. I had heard from others the same story that the island floated and moved slightly back and forth.

And of course, someone else likes to say that the lake is bottomless. Probably an urban legend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.