Still moth trapping....

he recent warmer nights have encouraged me to get my moth trap running again, hoping to catch the last 2 autumnal moths I usually see this time of year. 
The first night I caught one of the two, a beautiful December moth, and last night I was really hopeful I would get the second a Feathered thorn, but instead I got this, Acleris literana, a very beautiful  micro moth (with a wingspan of 18 -22mm), locally distributed in oak woodland in the southern half of Britain. According to the book it is on the wing in August and September and again in April and May having overwintered as an adult, I guess the un-seasonal mild weather has made it come out of hibernation. 
Whatever the reason, I was very pleased as I love green moths and this one is really beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.