Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Throne Rumination

In all my past abodes, I've always had a book (or two, or three, or more), for reading whilst perched upon the proverbial throne. But for some reason I failed to carry on the tradition in this house.

Until, that is, I chanced upon this book in a second-hand shop, and it literally screamed at me "Read me in the throne room!". So I bought it... and it's fab.

It tells of life in the year 1000. And to be honest.. in many ways it's not that different to life in the 2000s. There were no phones, telly, or internet granted, but other than that surprisingly similar. Education, travel, commerce, business, taxes, trading, good food and drink, entertainment. It's all there. Fascinating stuff.

No digital cameras though. Or analogue ones either come to think of it. Guess I would have had to get cracking with whatever passed for a pen and parchment in those days. Wouldn't have been pretty... good job I'm around now and not then.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.