An elusive supermoon . . . . .

I expected the moon to rise further to the east than it did, so consequently I missed it popping up out of the sea. I was really pleased to see it eventually though, as there'd been extensive cloud cover and we were thinking that we might miss it again, entirely.

I believe that tourists are being evacuated from Kaikoura today, by helicopter and by a navy vessel. I did feel sorry for one man I heard being interviewed, as he boarded the ship. He was delighted to be on his way but said that he gets dreadfully seasick. A case of the devil or the deep blue sea methinks.

An inland road has been re-opened, from Culverden through to Kaikoura. Apparently it's suitable for army style 4WDs. I guess that that must mean 'not urban SUVs'! I'd love to go and see what it's all looking like but I'm sure they won't be want sightsee-ers yet. (How do you write that? 'sightseer'?

PS - the strength of that strong earthquake has been revised to 7.8. Yikes!!! No wonder there was so much damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.