Off to the Isles

Today has been a wet one again! After lunch I walked down to the town to attend a U3A meeting. I'm not a member and am still not sure whether or not to join, but I thought I'd see what one of their science meetings was like. There were four wide-ranging mini-talks. The first, on the activities of the last of the Mars Rovers was fascinating.The second, on the newly discovered reserves of helium, was interesting, the more so as it was chosen as a subject by a friend whom I've known for years as a member of the garden club. It turns out she was a chemistry teacher in a previous life! The third, on gravitational waves, was baffling (not surprising, as the official definition states "Gravitational waves are ripples in the curvature of spacetime that propagate as waves at the speed of light, generated in certain gravitational interactions that propagate outward from their source") The fact that it was delivered competently by a little elderly lady looking like everyone's favourite granny was also a little disconcerting! Finally there was a talk on the problems of resistance to antibiotics - at least I knew what that was about, even if I didn't understand the chemistry!

All I can say is that there's a great deal more to many people than meets the eye!

I tried for a Blip on the way home, but it was getting dark and beginning to rain, so I'm afraid you'll have to be content with another ferry picture, this time of the 'MV Clansman', setting off for Craignure on the Isle of Mull, for some reason. She normally serves Coll & Tiree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.