a w a y

By PoWWow

I , er, wanted a challenge

Well I suppose there's only so much being really really still that anyone can take, so it was time to go on an adventure. When the clouds turned sinister and heavy with huge rain balls, I saw it merely as an opportunity to grab a free shower. The roads, harsh in their undulating rhythms, but perfect for what my lazy limbs were in need for. It turned wild, and kept getting worse. And when the synthetic sugar hit from the three giant cookies I'd gorged on to accompany my raunchy mid morning read wore off, I suddenly realised I was pretty far away from home and the intimidating light was screaming at me to do the sensible thing (as so were the looks of other passing cyclists that whizzed by ladened in high vis and fluorescent hard hats). The cozy thought of a return back to Cheeques, with coffees and a mushroom on toast concoction that I began a desperate craving for helped me power back through the sheepish miles I'd so recklessly embarked on.

A few miles from destination, I soon found myself living in that frozen moment - the one between riding some happy revolutions whilst marvelling at passing green fields and finding that the skin on your shoulders, elbows and legs have exchanged the need for a braking system, that they are excruciatingly drawing your tumbled machine and yourself to a slow and soggy and pretty shameful eventual holt. Harmonies of gasping sounds accompanied by sluggish demise of uprightness, as clusters of soaked walkers caught sight of this tumbling mess of blue, and now red. "I'm fine, I'm fine, I'm fine. Thanks, thank you, thanks" I murmured over and over again as I hobbled back to my now slightly obscure looking frame and tentatively pootled back to base, maybe marginally faster than walking pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.