The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Jungle curry and an inept Uber drive

I had a stroll around the streets near Chinatown and in the evening I went to a restaurant about 20 minutes away for a jungle curry that had been highly recommended. It was a little disappointing but the dessert made up for it: durian ice cream with sticky rice. I ordered an extra bowl of the rice as it went so well with it. Not only was it delicious but it helped to cool down my mouth after the hot curry.

My Uber ride on the way back turned out to be the worst I've ever experienced. It should have taken 19 minutes (including traffic) but it seems that my driver was unable to understand his sat nav and I counted at least 10 separate mistakes. Luckily Uber can refund you the difference if big mistakes are made (although at the time of writing, they've failed to do so for this trip, nearly a week later) so I was very relaxed about it and instead of shouting at the driver, I just let it play out.

He took me in to central Bangkok after almost accidentally going on to the same toll road twice (it seems he doesn't know how to tell Google Maps to avoid tolls), then finally when it was just one straight road back to my hostel, he took a left turn, then realised and did a U-turn in a very busy road, causing chaos. Back on that some straight road... and he makes another turn! He realises and then missing two chances to turn and get back on course.

What should have taken 19 minutes ended up as 51 minutes! FIFTY ONE! Note that this had absolutely nothing to do with traffic; it was purely down to utter incompetence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.