Not just for sailors and prostitutes

Such was the statement on one of the t-shirts for sale at the Norwich Body Art Festival today. Although I have no desire to modify my body (apart from having pierced ears) or have a tattoo myself I am fascinated by the art of the tattooist (less so the art of the body modifier) and each year have wanted to have a nose around this annual festival.

I got my wish today, as the Ukulele Society were booked to do two sets: one outside as people queued to go into the festival when it opened, and another set at 1.30. It wasn't until we arrived this morning that it was confirmed that our second set would take place actually inside the festival. I was thrilled to bits, as there was no way I could have afforded the admission fee.

The colours on this young man's tattoos weren't harsh - some pinks, pale blues and other light colours amongst the darker ones and all very beautifully done on his arms and legs as well as the ones on one side of his face and head. Funnily enough, though, as a photo it works better in b/w. I wonder what his day job is? Something in the creative industries I bet.

It was absolutely fascinating ....

Our two peformances went down really well and between the two we went and did a bit of busking. In the boiling mid-day sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.