PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

The real web.

Not such a terrible blip, but definitely emergency... back to taking well thought through images tomorrow.

This was very hard to do, he was so tiny ( his body at most was just 3 or 4mm across, yet the web was set to be about a metre judging by how far the first few strands reached ) and so fast and the DoF is ridiculously shallow at these distances. I had to do it handheld just to keep up with him.

I've never actually seen this before apart from on TV. He was in the process of starting a new web, unfortunately it was in my way. Cruel it may be, but I had to destroy it ( the web ) to get out of the house, but I was so fascinated by the process that I let him work for a few minutes before I stopped him in his prime.

He had already done the horizontal "cross pieces" and was whizzing around the middle making the iconic spiral. Truly could not believe how fast he was working. I'd always assumed the footage I'd seen was on fast forward.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.