EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Morning

I think it is time to feel some gratitude and stop my whining. I get the most splendid sun rises delivered right onto my bed many a morning.
I live in a cozy house that is warm and filled with the presence of beings that I love and who love me. This is all very different from what I thought my 'old age' would be. Having lived alone for 30 years, I pictured my retirement time also alone. Who would have thought that I would move to America to marry late in life? And this country was good to me, for me. It welcomed me and opened new perspectives. I loved to live here during the Obama years. I will shed tears for every one of his accomplishments that will have to go under the new presidency but a more Buddhist perspective will help.
I am thinking of the 'deplorables', ( a term Hilary never should have used, but still is so right).
When I was little, it was in postwar Germany and my parents had nothing, literally. They lived in a shed, that had housed prisoners of war during the war.It was the community of that little village, that let them live in that shed, organised a bed, a table and some chairs for them. When every German got 40 DM (Waehrungsreform), my father bought two old looms and tried to earn money by creating a tiny textile factory.
My first diapers came from a care package from the USA. I learned in those early years, to fend for myself. I got love and praise, when I helped my mom as much as I could, not just for being me. At three years old, I had to pass a big meadow where a group of aggressive geese resided, every morning to go to Kindergarten, just like the big white one in yesterday's extras.
My mom did not accompany me. She watched me from far until I had crossed this group of loud birds that ran after me flapping their wings. I felt very scared and alone but did not expect any help. I just ran...
So what kind of characters are sitting out there in those rural American areas, expecting help from the government? Or reproaching that they never got any? I know that there was a lot of help out there for them over the last 8 years. They could refinance the places in which they lived. There were programs so they could find new jobs. There was "Cash for clunkers" and last but not least, there was health insurance available, even if they had preexisting conditions.
But none of this helps you, if you use your money to get drunk in your trailer, too passive to even go out. I know that whole areas in America have lost their industries over the last 30 years, because of the outsourcing to Asia and South America. But the stronger, more willed persons moved to California and other states with new industries.
Does anybody think that this outsourcing - done by our president elect as well - will be reversible?
I once saw a documentation , unfortunately forgot the title, about a small town in one of those 'lost' areas . Many houses stood empty after the crisis hit. The government allowed a big number of new immigrants, refugees from countries like Syria, Irak etc. to live in that town. They managed to not only survive in their new environment, but to thrive. They were able to buy the houses that they rented in the beginning for very little money. They created new businesses and are now a well respected part of the American community. Besides a little start up help in the first half year, they helped themselves. That is a model that could work for many with a little creativity. But it all depends of the character of the people. 
I will seek for a place where I can help people to get back on their feet. I will welcome immigrants, I am one myself.  
That brings me back to the things I am grateful for:
I am very grateful for my kind Mexican helpers in house and garden. For my very sweet and helpful Chinese tailor and dry cleaner. The list could be longer but it would bore you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.