I'm off!

An early morning walk with the camera, at not long after low tide. The sun was ostensibly risen, although behind dark grey clouds. The wind was chill. The birds were (mostly) more sensible than I. One solitary heron objected to my approach by relocating along the beach. As I again tried to get a bit closer, this was its reaction.

Later we went with friends to have lunch at the Sandspit  Cafe. The wind was still gusting and blowing the water into spumes of spray at times; at least in the Matakana River estuary (seen through the window of the cafe in my extra for today). On the other side of the cafe (behind my back) the water of Kawau Bay was almost calm. An indication of the effect of the sandspit which gives this little village its name. A little further along the sanspit is the Sandspit Wharf, from where the ferries leave for Kawau Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.