Fluked it

I was not looking forward to today.  But as it's turned out, it's been pretty good so far.

OK, so it's my 70th Birthday.  So what, it's just a day.  Right?  I'm only one day older than I was yesterday.  I didn't look any different in the mirror this morning.

First thing, I got a birthday phone call from the Belair NP Treasurer who is holidaying on the Gold Coast - so lovely of her and I nearly cried.  Then I got a text from my colleagues at the Belair National Park.  Would I like to join them at a local cafe for morning tea?  That was lovely of them too, and I got a little cake and they all sang Happy Birthday and I nearly cried.

Then we went out to lunch with my brother, and he gave me a lovely card and a very nice cash donation.  I nearly cried again.

Then I managed to fluke an image of a lovely Painted Lady (Vanessa kershawi).  And I nearly cried again.

So far, I haven't actually succumbed to the tears, but we have friends coming over for dinner, and who knows what might happen.

And!  I've decided on a new career.  I'm going to be a Grumpy Old Lady.

Works for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.