Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

A Visit with Aunt Alice

I have been working on my family history for over 25 years.  The Powers branch of my family has consumed probably way too much time (similar to Blipping).  My great great grandfather was named Mathew Powers and he had a total of 12 children (7 survived to adulthood) and have spent years chasing down their respective descendants.  His first daughter Alice dropped off the radar before 1900 and never knew what happened to her.  After a break about 5 years ago, I was able to learn who she married and another break in July pointed me to where she was buried (just 25 minutes from my house).  

I took Maggie with me and drove into the city to finally pay Aunt Alice a visit.  When we arrived at the cemetery, I was impressed with how well kept the grounds were.  I confirmed the section/plot number with the lady at the front desk and quickly discovered that there was a clerical problem from the late 1800's and the card with the burial info had a plot number that was not on the cemetery map.  I told the lady that I would just go and roam the section listed on the card and see if I could find the grave.  

Maggie and I left and began the search and thirty minutes later (and several rounds withs squirrels), we finally found the family plot.  

Aunt Alice Powers-Daly (1869-1897; Dates on grave are totally wrong) is buried with two of her daughters, a son John (aka Jack) and his wife, and I believe several grandchildren.  John Jay Daly worked for the Washington Post for years and became famous after covering the Knickerbocker Theater collapse in 1922. Story and photos of him here...

While I was cleaning up and photographing the graves, Maggie kept herself busy by chasing squirrels and chewing sticks.  

In order to get today's blip, I balanced the camera on a neighbors headstone, and set it to take 1 picture every 5 seconds.  When I got home, I pulled the best of the batch for today's blip.  See today's Extra Photos for a shot of me getting a quick kiss from Maggie.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.