sarah1708

By sarah1708

Cambridge to Wicken Fen

After a LOT of trying, I have given up on trying to use public transport to get to the hills for a day long (or even a weekend) trip. Cambridge is in such a rubbish place for any hills, so I think I'll have to start saving up for the sleeper train up to Aviemore at some point instead! 

However, I didn't want that to stop me going on weekend adventures so I stocked up on cycling and walking books to see where I could go. One thing that Cambridgeshire is good for is cycling - there are a huge amount of cycle lanes and paths around. Cycling is also something that is more enjoyable on the flat (at least for me and my fitness level, as well as my single speed bike!) So I headed out to Wicken Fen nature reserve today, which led me on a wonderful route out of Cambridge and through some of the fens (a region of marshy land in eastern England). I saw birds of prey, Konic ponies, and highland cows (which have been brought in to graze the land and help with plant biodiversity). 

It was really fantastic to get out on my bike for so long, as well as managing a walk at the nature reserve. In total, I cycled 52km and walked 12km. I am absolutely exhausted now but feel so good - I've really missed my outdoor adventures and I'm so glad that I can carry them on here, even though they'll be a bit different! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.