IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Shaftesbury Avenue

Quick iPad effort.

Up before dawn and out into a frosty morning with a torch, pouring hot water on an icy windscreen. Through the woods and down the hill to Cromer where I can park all day for free outside the station. But....no train....a long delay, and then finally it arrives. The staff are very friendly and too apologetic. We must have had at least four apologies between Cromer and Norwich for the brake failures which caused the problem. But the guard tells me I can claim half my fare back because I am going to miss my connection from Norwich to London.
I manage to grab a coffee and a bacon baguette on Norwich station and then onto the 8 o'clock train for Liverpool Street.
Two and a half hours later I emerge from the subway in Piccadilly Circus and have trouble orientating myself so I ask a police man and woman who are standing watching the crowds.
On up Shaftesbury Avenue where a handful of early birds are out shopping or queuing for tickets on Theatreland. I head for a Hall in Dean Street where my professional association are holding their AGM...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.