Christopher Plummer's autograph

Linda and I and a friend were in London to hit a few Christmas bazaars and visit a few other places. At the book table, I spotted Mr. Plummer's autobiography for $2, In Spite of Myself. I've been reading a number of biographies and autobiographies lately and, as a fan of his work, I picked it up and looked inside. It was autographed! Better still, there was a second copy on the table. I peeked. It was autographed, too! The one pictured has no dedication and the flyleaf and first title page have been torn out. I'll keep that one. The other is dedicated: "Helen. With Thanks, Christopher Plummer" - I'll sell that one online or to my regular bookseller.

Other things acquired there were Grimm's Fairy Tales, Ken Follett's Edge of Eternity (book three of a trilogy which I've been looking to find for a year), Dava Sobel's Galileo's Daughter (non-fiction), a couple of Diana Krall CDs and one by Loreena McKennitt.

I've not met Mr. Plummer but we've seen many of his movies. I've seen him perform live three times: Barrymore (Toronto in 2006 or 2007 between its Stratford debut and its run on Broadway), Julius Caesar (2008, Stratford, ON), and The Tempest (2010, Stratford, ON). The latter was close enough for us to be spit on, as they say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.