OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

The Sound of Eynhallow

It started off pretty foggy in town. The driver of the Octo bus (or Doctor Octobus as I call him) said that Dounby had been bright so I hoped Eview would be too. It wasn't. I walked down to the shore and north along the rocks. There were more seals on the rocks than I'd seen here before- maybe forty-five, nearly all common seal. I watched a big grey seal bull serenede a female with a song but she wasn't interested and he pushed off. Some of the seals dived for the water when I appeared but I think they were youngsters. The old ones just looked at me and thought ' aw it's just him again'. I settled down to coffee and some seals came back onto shore. Others had some fun porpoising. The fog burned away and I walked along the shore south to the Iron Age Broch of Gurness. A chat to the steward, some ice-cream and then Doc picked me up again. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.