The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Octopus

Somehow the clouds looked like the suckered tentacles of a giant octopus about to swallow Whitbarrow. It was one of the best sunsets of the year and it kept getting better and better. I was glad I went to sit on the edge of the prom at Storth and watch this, it was good for the soul. Wifie is still at her Mum's and I had been feeling a bit lonesome during the day.

Lucky I didn't blip earlier as it would have been a lone gull against the vastness of Morecambe Bay, which summed up how I was feeling at the time. But now I feel recharged.

It was my eldest nephew's 30th birthday today, how did that happen? It hardly seems a few years since we were with him toddling around Loch Lomond. Anyway, Happy Birthday, Ed! I'm looking forward to seeing you and Anna next month.

Interestingly a year ago I was up early and in almost the same place looking eastwards for a colourful sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.