Parkland Oak, Sheffield Park

I went for a walk in the Parkland this morning to see what damage might have resulted there from last night's storm.

The wind was still blowing strongly when I arrived at around 7:30, making for an exhilarating start to my venture - particularly on the high ground at the centre of the park.

However, I did not come across any evidence of wind damage - and was amazed to see so many leaves still attached to many of the Oaks in the park, including this fine specimen (between the centre of the park and the pillbox), as well as the two younger oaks behind it, framed here by the older tree's branches.

(I understand that the rather spare Beech on the horizon, at the centre of the Parkland, is a survivor from the devastation wrought here by the Great Storm of 1987.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.