Five Apostles

This happens to be my 2,000th blip, an event to which many of you will have been alerted, so it would only be polite to say a few words for the occasion. You should be glad that I'm not in any mood to write at length. I just wanted to acknowledge the extent to which blipping has become part of my life now. It's not been an easy year, but I know it would have been very much harder without blip.

Posting a blip has been the one constant, something to give every day some meaning. There have been many times when I've not been able to write anything, but the photograph is often all that is needed for the journal. I've been told that my photographs often reveal things which are not explicit in the writing, and I'm sure that could well be true. It's becoming a fascinating visual record of my life.

It's impossible to be totally honest in my journal. Our lives as presented for public consumption are inevitably filtered and censored to some extent. Some days it feels appropriate to reflect my mood in the photograph I post; on others, it's more about finding something special when the day has otherwise been tedious and frustrating. Taking just one picture with which I'm pleased can turn my whole day around, especially so if it pleases other people too.

It's still a wonder to me that so many of you still drop quietly by most days, for it has been quite a few years now since I've browsed other journals in a structured way. My subscriptions got rather out of hand and I've never recovered. I still like to dip into blip randomly, but that means there will be some of you I haven't seen in a very long while. I'm sorry :(

I guess it's in my nature to feel a sense of guilt around not responding to comments and visiting other journals, and perhaps that's why I still feel this need to make an effort with my photography, to hopefully put something back. Today, even when I lost the feeling in my hands, even with a gammy leg and frozen feet, I still found myself making a detour to take the photograph I was after! 

I owe so much to this site and the people here who follow me and give me support. Thank you all so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.