Life in a Northern Town.

By archduchess

Horace.

Today I went to the opening of the Discover Preston gallery at the Harris Museum in Preston. One of the main focal points of the exhibition was Horace, the 11,000 year old elk found under a bungalow in Poulton-le-Fylde. Amanda Vickery, who opened the gallery, talked about visiting the museum every Saturday to change her library books and look at her and her dad's favourite paintings. We would visit every Saturday after my dance lessons, I would talk to the gerbils in the children's library, change my library books whilst my dad leaned against one of the robust radiators reading an Asterix book or two. A quick trip around the exhibits would always have to include Horace, and apparently I used to chastise the curators for moving things. Special trips would involve a pot of tea, and a scone with blackcurrant jam in the Harris café. Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.