The Whistleblower

It was a glorious day, so I was thrilled when mum said Let's go to the bird lake for walkies! She brought a new whistle and told me she wanted to try it out. Because Selma and Tova, my dog friends from the other day, always come back when their mum blows a whistle. I agreed to try it out.

The weather is warmer again, so we were surprised to see the whole bird lake still frozen with a rather thick layer of ice. No birds were left. Mum explained they need open water. It was beautiful, however, and - mum had remembered to pack a small picnic! Pancake with strawberry jam!

Then off we went along the water, and then across the now cattle-free fields. I ran happily all over the place, mum called me and whistled and I came back.

Until zap! I went instantaneously deaf. Half a dead bird, possibly a magpie, was too much of a temptation. Mum had to run over and yell at me and chase me away. Oops.

I wish I had the whistle! I would blow it and mum would have to come to me! I would be Boss! Just for a change...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.