Despite nearly 720 entrants, the last five miles of the run/walk stage of the Highland Cross can be kind of lonely if you're injured and at the back. Felt sorry for the poor fella. Though I didn't catch him up when I walked the six miles back to my car.

About a mile before reaching the car, I noticed that a knob that grips the ball-head of my tripod had fallen off. Continued back to the car, dumped all the heavy gear. Something to eat and drink, and then walk back along that forestry track to look for it. Despite being tired, it wouldn't be worth driving back on another occasion to look for it. Best do it today. A replacement, if available, would be extortionate. Could make up something, but it likely wouldn't be as good  as the original. The track was (now) dry, and as long as the thing had fallen on the track, I should spot it... I reckoned. Almost gave up a couple of times, but eventually, there it was, after another four miles... looking slightly rough, after having been run over by at least one of the support vehicles! It cleaned up okay.

So I reckon I walked 20 miles on this day... the same as the participants. Though they didn't have to carry: a couple of semi-pro cameras; one with a large lens; heavy tripod; full waterproofs (forecast wasn't good); food and drink for the day, along with a myriad of other wee bits and pieces - for twelve of those miles.

Was very lucky with the weather. There was a torrential downpour a mile from my setup, and for the many of the later competitors, but it missed me and the support folk nearby. Made for some ominous sky shots on the way back. But I chose this one, out of over 1000 taken today. No sign of Pippa Middleton this year, or any other celebrities. I may be editing for quite a while...

May do things differently next year - weather, and midgees permitting.

(Edit: Posted the set of photos from this year's event, here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.