Donnie or Darla

I searched high and low and in-between for anything that was a couple. I wanted a set-up for my wedding story. Nothing to be found.

The only big duck that would pose for me was Marilyn. I put her on my flickr page...in all her white-feathered beauty. Her mate stayed away from the camera man.

I ran the soundboard for a wedding today. A first for me. I was so stressed out...my CD picker-outer finger was shaking. The processional music first...followed by the biggie. "HERE COMES THE BRIDE!!!" (How come I still think...BIG, FAT, AND WIDE...?"

A quick switch to the candle-lighting song...and then the big instrumental finale...after their first kiss. HA!

It was one of those mixed family weddings. Think the Brady Bunch. There were 6 kids walking down the aisle...with another helping the ushers. 2 little girls were so small...they had to be brought down in a wagon.

I thought that between a novice sound man, and all those kids...that we had a recipe for disaster. The kids did better than I did. In all my worries about the music...I forgot to unmute the minister. When I did push him on...his microphone SPRANG to life...much too loudly. People looked back at me...but I quickly cowered behind the sound system.

No couples to be photographed...but I still wish the new married couple a good run. They didn't ask...but I would have been glad to give them my favorite wedding advice. GIVE...GIVE...GIVE (75%)...then TAKE .(25%) If both husband and wife try to do that...it makes for a lot of giving.

As the new couple released their guests...I switched on the hand-held microphone. I gave them my best Captain Steubing (The Love Boat) impression. "Love...exciting and new...come aboard...we're expecting you." Just might be my first and last soundboard gig.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.