Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

The kava ...

[FR – cave; EN/GB – wine merchant; EN/US – liquor store]

...is the father/son business of Stelios and his son Manolis. Stelios spent many years working on Canada's west coast so his English is fluent and his nick-name is Stan. Manolis is far more interested in his goats and his loofah and squash plants than he is in the business, but he does everything required of him with a friendly and cheerful attitude. Now that Stan's memory is failing Manolis has had to take over the running of the business.

I went in today for beer and wine, Manolis was out but Stan was around. He can see the crates of beer so that's not a problem but usually I have to show him where the wine is in the store room. “My memory's not so good” he will tell me. I have to remind him of the prices too. After Stan had put a crate of beer and a box of cardboardeaux into the car I handed him a 50€ note “How much change you want?” He asked.
“Seven” I replied. He handed me three.
Together we laughed about his mistake and I promised that neither of us would rob the other.

Here are Manolis' goats. I was attracted by the wall made with mud-filled beer crates and the gate which once upon a time was a double bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.